T20 World Cup: Full Record of Champions, Runners-up, Man of the Finals from 2007 to 2021

India might be eager to clinch their second title whereas England want to embody the T20 World Cup of their cupboard, which already has a 50-over World Cup.

New Zealand can be wanting so as to add one other ICC world title to their kitty which is already filled with the World Check Championship trophy. West Indies is the workforce that has received probably the most T20 World Cups.

There are different contenders as properly, and right here we’re wanting on the final 7 editions and winners of the T20 World Cup.

1. 2007 – India beat Pakistan

The primary ICC Males’s T20 World Cup might need lasted solely 13 days however there was no scarcity of unforgettable moments. The opening match set the tone, with Chris Gayle hitting 10 sixes on the Wanderers to change into the primary participant to attain an official T20I century.

However that was nonetheless not sufficient to win, because the hosts, impressed by Herschelle Gibbs, chased down 205 with 14 balls to spare.

In a high-scoring event, Yuvraj Singh made headlines when he hit six sixes in an over, with England’s Stuart Broad on the receiving finish.

MS Dhoni’s India had already made historical past after they defeated Pakistan through ball-out within the group stage and when fierce rivals met once more within the last, the end result was the identical – although no much less dramatic.

Joginder Sharma was the person of the second holding his nerve with the ball, when Pakistan wanted simply six runs off 4 balls for a five-run victory.

2. 2009 – Pakistan beat Sri Lanka

From agony to ecstasy, Shahid Afridi’s player-of-the-match efficiency helped Pakistan change into champions after beating Sri Lanka at Lord’s.

With figures of fifty and 16 off 34 balls, the star of the present within the semi-finals, Afridi once more top-scored within the residence of cricket, his unbeaten 54 as Pakistan received by eight wickets.

Lord’s was a sea of ​​inexperienced that afternoon, nevertheless it had beforehand turned orange for one of many greatest shocks of the event.

The Netherlands, chasing 162 runs, defeated England on the final ball of the opening match of the event.

Arguably the perfect particular person efficiency of the event got here at The Oval, the place Umar Gul’s five-wicket haul, for the primary time in T20Is, propelled the Black Caps to the semi-finals and later returned to the capital for his or her first main event win. In 17 years.

2010 – England beat Australia

Paul Collingwood’s England made a disappointing begin to their marketing campaign in exceptional trend earlier than securing the trophy at Bridgetown.

He began with an eight-wicket loss in opposition to the hosts and was restricted to 120, batting first in opposition to Eire.

Rain intervened, which noticed England progress on internet run price at Eire’s expense, after which they clicked into gear and progressed to the ultimate the place they met previous rivals Australia.

Nicely, it was Collingwood who hit the profitable run with three overs to spare, whereas Kevin Pietersen, who scored 47 within the last, was adjudged the Participant of the Event.

2012 – West Indies beat Sri Lanka

Marlon Samuels’ match-winning knock of 78 runs helped West Indies win their maiden ICC Males’s T20 World Cup title in Colombo.

The workforce’s path to the ultimate was precisely the identical because the one which England had taken two years in the past. After shedding their opener to Australia, a conflict with Eire washed out, leaving the Windies second within the group on internet run price.

They have been properly crushed by Sri Lanka within the Tremendous 8 stage however a Tremendous Over victory over New Zealand noticed them progress to the final 4.

Then revenge in opposition to the hosts within the last, with Samuels shining with the bat and Sunil Narine claiming three for 9 because the Windies secured a 36-run victory.

2014 – Sri Lanka beat India

Pushed by the frustration of lacking out on residence soil, Sri Lanka have been placing up a greater efficiency in Bangladesh two years later.

The Lions topped Group 1 and bowled out Netherlands for 39 and New Zealand for 60 as their bowling assault proved to be unparalleled.

The semi-final, a replay of the ultimate two years earlier, noticed Sri Lanka beat West Indies to arrange a conflict with India, with the 2 icons swooping in fashion of their final T20I.

Mahela Jayawardene turned the primary batsman to succeed in 1000 ICC Males’s T20 World Cup runs earlier than Kumar Sangakkara led his aspect with an unbeaten half-century, leaving the event’s main run-scorer Virat Kohli’s 77 in useless.

Netherlands’ Ehsan Malik shared the highest wicket-taker honors with Imran Tahir, claiming solely 5 wickets of the event in opposition to South Africa.

West Indies

2016 – West Indies beat England

Carlos Brathwaite, keep in mind the title. Ian Bishop’s iconic commentary offered the backdrop for Bajan’s stellar efficiency, whose 4 consecutive sixes within the final over of the ultimate helped West Indies crown their second ICC Males’s T20 World Cup.

West Indies wanted 19 from the final six balls in opposition to England and Brathwaite – who had taken three wickets with the primary ball – made gentle work of the problem, unfortunate bowler Ben Stokes.

Samuels once more proved himself to be a person for the large event, being named participant of the match for his unbeaten 85, whereas a number of Windies batsmen made the transfer a number of occasions all through the event.

Gayle scored a 47-ball century within the group stage conflict with England, Andre Fletcher’s unbeaten 84 in a seven-wicket win over defending champions Sri Lanka and Lendl Simmons scored an unbeaten 82 off 51 balls within the semi-final win over India.

2021 – Australia beat New Zealand

No nation has loved extra ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup success than Australia, however they arrived within the UAE and are nonetheless ready to make their mark within the shortest format.

After advancing by the group stage, Aaron Finch’s aspect saved their greatest for the knockouts and knocked out an unbeaten semi-finalist Pakistan within the final 4.

The ultimate pitted Australia in opposition to neighbors New Zealand, for whom Kane Williamson’s 85-run knock totaled 172 for 4.

This didn’t show to be sufficient in opposition to the in-form batting line-up, with Mitchell Marsh’s unbeaten 77 off 50 balls giving Australia an eight-wicket success that will see them safe an unprecedented title protection on this 12 months’s event. Is.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Comment