Checklist of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy winners: Champions and Runners-up of SMAT from 2006-07 to 2021-22

The SMAT match is a part of the Indian home season and has been held each season for the reason that 2008–09 season. The SMAT started as a 27-team match and has since expanded to a 38-team competitors.

Launched by BCCI in 2006 because the Inter-State T20 Championship, the match noticed 27 groups divided into teams based mostly on their areas – East, West, North, South, Central compete within the inaugural version. The highest two from every group will then advance to the Tremendous League, which is now knocked out.

Whereas each version of the SMAT has seen Ranji Trophy groups competing, the 2016–17 season was an exception because the match was contested in a round-robin format with 5 regional groups competing for the title.

Within the 14 editions of SMAT held to date, inaugural champion Tamil Nadu is essentially the most profitable facet, having received the title thrice, adopted by Karnataka, Gujarat and Baroda, who’ve received the title twice every.

Punjab has been runner-up for essentially the most – thrice – dropping all its three finals. Tamil Nadu has reached the ultimate 5 occasions, whereas Baroda has reached the ultimate 4 occasions and Karnataka has reached the ultimate 3 times.

Right here is the record of winners and runners-up for every season of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy to date:

climate the champion Closing end result runner up
2021/22 Tamil Nadu received by 4 wickets Karnataka
2020/21 Tamil Nadu received by 7 wickets Baroda
2019/20 Karnataka received by 1 run Tamil Nadu
2018/19 Karnataka received by 8 wickets Maharashtra
2017/18 Delhi received by 41 runs Rajasthan Rajasthan
2016/17 Jap space Factors Desk Standings central zone
2015/16 Uttar Pradesh received by 38 runs Baroda
2014/15 Gujarat received by 2 wickets Punjab
2013/14 Baroda received by 3 runs Uttar Pradesh
2012/13 Gujarat received by 6 wickets Punjab
2011/12 Baroda received by 8 runs Punjab
2010/11 Bengal received by 1 run Madhya Pradesh
2009/10 Maharashtra received by 19 runs Hyderabad
2006/07 Tamil Nadu received by 2 wickets Punjab

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Comment